The Anatomy of Influence: Woody to Bruce to RATM edition

And as long as we are on the subject of Woody Guthrie and his ongoing influence, look at how short a journey it is from Woody’s Tom Joad, to Bruce’s Ghost, to this:

Art makes art.

Explore posts in the same categories: Music, The Good Fight

3 Comments on “The Anatomy of Influence: Woody to Bruce to RATM edition”

  1. Batocchio Says:

    Definitely! Artists respond to and riff on each other across years and sometimes centuries or millenia. I’ve found it’s easiest (on a blog) to show examples in poetry, but the interplay between composers/songwriters is ridiculous. I’ve always thought the Springsteen song featured in the previous post was extremely underrated/overlooked, by the way. His rendition of the famous speech is pretty haunting.

    • Tom Says:

      I completely agree re Springsteen and “The Ghost of Tom Joad.”

      I do love this evolution of influence stuff. Have you ever read any essays by Guy Davenport. He’s a master at tracing literary threads, and is a wonderful writer as well. I recommend “The Geography of the Imagination” as a great collection.


  2. […] … I don’t know quite how to characterize this one After yesterday’s Woody fest, I really shouldn’t do this, but outsourced entirely to someone with whom I dare not enter […]


Leave a comment