I Haz One Happy. I Haz One Sad.

Two links I’ve been saving for everyone’s delectation.

The happy?

This extraordinary video mashup of something like 270 films released in 2010, coming in at six minutes running time.

__

Just great stuff.

And the sad?

This collection of genuinely beautiful photographs of the ruin that was Detroit.  The artfulness of these images is just marvelous.

The subject…it breaks my heart.

Image.  J. W. M. Turner, The Fighting Temeraire tugged to her last Berth to be broken up, 1838

(The link between image and post is a little allusive, I’ll admit, but it’s there (in my own mind, if nowhere else), and I do truly love this painting.  I’ve made pilgrimages to see it.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Cool Images, Cool Video, Decline and Fall

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “I Haz One Happy. I Haz One Sad.”

  1. David Dobbs Says:

    Your Turner image is spot on, actually, since it’s Detroit anticipated, with a layer of irony: It is, after all, one age (of sail) being led off by another (steam) to be broken up for scrap. It is a heartbreaking painting. I spent a good 20 minutes in front of it at the National Gallery a few weeks back, deeply moved. All paintings look better in their originals, but Turner, along with Van Gogh, lose so much in translation to prints and book versions that to behold the real thing is to confront something you’ve never seen before. So it is with this one. Immensely beautiful and sad.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    The detroit pictures are amazing — although the scenes are in ruins and disrepair, you can really imagine the life that once filled these spaces.

  3. Thony C. Says:

    I had a copy of “The Fighting Temeraire” hanging on my bedroom wall all through my childhood. I found the picture fascinating and developed a life-long love affair with Turner’s art. The first time I visited the Turner gallery at the Tate at the end of the 1960s I was completely stunned by the power of his paintings.


Leave a Reply

