Self Aggrandizement Alert: Newton and the Counterfeiter’s UK Paperback is out, Critics Don’t Quail in Horror

Just got my box of paperbacks from Faber, and I have to say, I love the cover — best of the four versions to date:

The book has been well received, especially in the British press — the Sunday Times was pleased enough with it to name it on its best-books-of-the-year list, as did the Library Journal and New York magazine over here.

And now it can be bought in Britain again (Faber had a bit of an inventory control problem with the hardcover, which has been unavailable for some months.  Heck, at least I can say I sold out the British Isles…;)

And a few folks have been kind enough to re-notice the work. Via Faber’s eternally vigilant publicity folks, I learn of these props:

‘Entertaining … Levenson has a good eye for the colourful details that bring 17th-century London to life in all its grimy glory: Newton and the Counterfeiter weaves together the history of the money and a biography of one of our greatest scientists in a readable romp.’ Observer

‘Wonderful book.’ Sunday Times

Should any of this move  you to more curiosity, you can check out the work at your local bookstore, (I hope), or online at the usual suspects:  AmazonPowellsBarnes and NobleIndiebound and  across the pond at Amazon.co.ukWaterstonesBlackwells, Books Etc., and John Smith & Son — not to mention electronically Amazon’s Kindle store, the Barnes and Noble store (Not sure if it’s available yet at Apple’s ibook store, but I’ll check and update.)

Self promotion (at least thus nakedly) now at an end.  As you were.

Explore posts in the same categories: good books, History of Science, Newton and the Counterfeiter, Self-aggrandizement

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Self Aggrandizement Alert: Newton and the Counterfeiter’s UK Paperback is out, Critics Don’t Quail in Horror”

  1. Abel Says:

    Oooh, me likey! An absolutely gorgeous cover – kudos to the designer. Seriously, that would make for a nice poster in my office.

    Of course, I like my US hardcover regardless of the design – and the words inside are probably the same, no?

  2. TBogg Says:

    I’m sure that Megan McArdle would find your little story “unconvincing”.

    Seriously, though. You should send her an autographed copy as a wedding gift.

  3. aimai Says:

    I love the hardcover copy cover that I have. And the book too. Its great that the paperback version is giving the book a second round of attention. It well deserves it. I’ve been meaning to write up my impressions so maybe I’ll make the paperback the occasion.

    aimai

  4. Thony C. Says:

    Although written by an American (should they be allowed to write about our national icons?) I recommend every true born Englishman to read this excellent book.

  5. Omnes Omnibus Says:

    I just finished the book. I truly enjoyed it, and, what’s more, I discovered something to buy my father for X-mas. I must confess that during parts of the book I found myself envisioning Newton as a 17th century Batman. Is that wrong of me?

  6. Libby McMillan Says:

    I bought this book for a friend and started to browse through it on the way home from the city – now I have to buy another copy for my friend, as I am keeping this one! It’s fantastic! And I agree – the cover is great. I am enjoying the sense of learning while being entertained and the juxtapositioning of the history of the time with the events of the book is a good reminder of why history need not be dry!

  7. Graham Says:

    Any plans to release this as a DRM-free EPUB? I would be very interested to read it, and am very happy to pay for it. However, I do not purchase books with DRM.

    I note that it is available for free at the usual file-sharing sites so you will not be losing any sales by releasing as a DRM-free eBook, just getting extra sales from those of us who want it in that format.

    • Tom Says:

      Sadly, I don’t hold the epub rights; those inhere in the publishers of the print editions. If they go the DRM route, then I’m stuck.

      Meanwhile: I’ve looked at some of the file sharing sites, and usually they have the promise of the book without the text. Have you seen some with the actual full book available?

  8. Graham Says:

    Thanks for engaging, Tom. If you get a chance, it might be worth pointing out to your publishers that you have been contacted by at least one buyer who would buy the book if it was available in DRM-free EPUB and not otherwise! Given that your audience is likely to include a higher than usual proportion of geeks it is probably a safe bet that there are others.

    I have not attempted to actually download the book — I am not interested in stealing your content. Although I would like to read the book, if you (i.e. your publishers) do not wish to offer it to me on licence terms I find acceptable then I will not read it — I have plenty of other books awaiting reading. That is also the reason I do not just buy the DRM version and remove the DRM (although the tools to do that are easily available of course).

    I have followed this course for many years with music and now almost everything is available DRM-free. The same will be true of ebooks in a few years but, unfortunately, no one will be re-issuing the back catalogue except for the best sellers.


Leave a Reply

