Not Dead Yet….Just Resting/Beautiful Plumage Edition

Blogging is conspicuous by its absence.  I plead end-of-term disasters, combined with the long dark tea-time of the soul.

Been feeling grim lately, and lacking the oomph to blog, I channel my inner Ishmael:

… I find myself growing grim about the mouth;
whenever it is a damp, drizzly November in my soul; whenever I
find myself involuntarily pausing before coffin warehouses,
and bringing up the rear of every funeral I meet;
and especially whenever my hypos get such an upper hand of me,
that it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from
deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking
people’s hats off–then, I account it high time to get to sea
as soon as I can.

But I do see some possibility of returning to civil conversation, probably after my next two talks, both in the LA area tonight (LA County Library downtown) and tomorrow (the OC — at the National Academy facility at UC Irvine), so please consider this a hiatus rather than a quietus.

And in the meantime, for your viewing pleasure, those clips that inspire this title.

and

Explore posts in the same categories: blogospheric tail chasing, Newton and the Counterfeiter, Self-aggrandizement, Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Not Dead Yet….Just Resting/Beautiful Plumage Edition”


  1. You’ve been nailed to the perch? Or fishing for something bigger than cod? Which is it?

    As long as we’re swimming in it (sans oil, I hope), has blogging jumped the shark?

  2. Ian Preston Says:

    Sorry to hear the gloom has descended, Tom. Hope your spirits pick up soon. Your voice of reason is always appreciated.

  3. Richard S Says:

    While acutely aware that you’re not immortal it is good to have you back.


Leave a Reply

