I Hate the AARP

50 doesn’t come my way for another couple of months yet -50! Not 60, 0r 62, or Social Security’s retirement age of 66 and change, but 50! And already I’ve gotten a couple of those helpful mailings from the AARP. Loathsome.

In any event, I took this comment from a day or so ago as a kind of reassurance.

FWIW, the apple of my eye has just turned eight, as it happens, so apparently, there is still a little more up for him.

(h/t, with chuckles, to xkcd)

Explore posts in the same categories: Aging, geek humor, random humor, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “I Hate the AARP”

  1. Steve Smith Says:

    When my wife turned 50, my parents bought her a subscription to AARP. She was unimpressed to say the least.

    Steve

  2. Tom Says:

    If my wife’s parents do the same to me, it’ll be lumps of coal in their stockings as far as the eye can see.

    Thanks for the comment.

  3. Richard Says:

    I’m 59 years old and have been a member of AARP since 50. Don’t be fooled by AARP. The days of representative “Gray Power” are long over. I worked for Hartford Insurance Auto Claims in Florida who writes the AARP insurance. The premium discount is not better than if you shop around and claims service is by the book. Insureds get no breaks when it comes to claims service of having your carrier oppose you.

    I moved my mom into an assisted living facility and AARP automatically changed her mailing address to the facility. I’ve tried to get AARP to change her address back to the original address for four years without success.

    AARP is a behemoth machine swelling from kickbacks earned by corporations providing services in their name. You’ll find that AAA and BoatUS are similar in that regard.


  4. Welcome to the over fifty club. I do save money on some stuff by being over fifty.

  5. Doug Morris Says:

    Six months ago I AGAIN went through it with AARP to NOT send me any information and in fact go a letter of deep apology from the now retired president of AARP saying that he was sorry and that I would not be receiving any mailings from them. I also had to do the same thing in SF.

    Well this morning I received yet another mailing from them. I have asked numerous time to stop the mailings. Are they so old that they have forgotten or do they not know what the word harassment means! Or are they in some perverted way getting their jollies out of harassing people.

    AARP is only a lobby for insurance companies. That is all. They do nothing for old people. It is insulting to receive information from them as I am not old.

    • jenny Says:

      My father passed away in May and the AARP somehow got my email address and will not stop spamming me. I have sent them numerous emails, clicked the unsubscribe button on every letter, and called them on the phone. They will not stop emailing me and this is causing me emotional distress. I have cried on the telephone to their agents, begging them to stop and they refuse. I want to sue them for harassment and emotional damage. It has been 9 months since my father passed away and I think that it is cruel that they will not stop emailing me. Does anyone know if I can sue them for this or if there is someone at the higher levels whom I can contact? I have tried everything.

  6. Ted Snyder Says:

    AARP endorses Government Health care… I am approaching Social Security and am scared to death about that system and you think I want them managing my health care?? I will never join AARP because of this betrayal.

  7. Bennie Says:

    I hate AARP!!! I’m 55 going on 40 and these bas#erds have been nothing but annoying to me. Even before the BIG government suck up thing happened I cut up my card and told them to shove it!! They make me sick- it’s nothing but OLD school marketing by H#atford insurance. I don’t want any discount that involves this stupid ripoff big gov SHAM!!

  8. Boombear Says:

    I hate AARP and EVERYTHING it stands for! I am also a boomer (55 going on 40)… the bastards were in bed with BIG government trying to milk us again! From everything I can tell Hateford run’s it for their own benefit, not yours! I made a youtube video of me burning the damn card! I ant a part of the OLD FART club and I will never be! They make me puke! It is nothing more then a marketing vehicle for business to get into your pockets and most of the members are sheeple who ‘think’ they are getting discounts, but are really getting screwed and labeled as old, feeble and stupid. I hate AARP!!


  9. [...] 16.I Hate the AARP « The Inverse Square Blog Jul 17, 2008 … I’ve tried to get AARP to change her address back to the original address for four years without success. AARP is a behemoth machine swelling … http://inversesquare.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/i-hate-the-aarp/ [...]


  10. [...] 8.I Hate the AARP « The Inverse Square Blog Jul 17, 2008 … Insureds get no breaks when it comes to claims service of having your carrier … and AARP automatically changed her mailing address to the facility. I’ve tried to get AARP to change her address back to the original address for … http://inversesquare.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/i-hate-the-aarp/ [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,760 other followers

